Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
General in Canberra.

Surf lifesavers give up more than 1.4 million volunteer hours to patrol Australian beaches each year, but more than that, they contribute to local communities across the country through training and educating our young people, community awareness, fundraising and so much more.

Surf Life Saving Australia President, Graham Ford AM, congratulated those associated with the movement both past and present, who were today honoured for their outstanding service.

“On behalf of Surf Life Saving Australia, I would like to acknowledge and congratulate all those associated with our movement who were today recognised and honoured for their outstanding community service as part of the Australia Day Honours,” said Ford.

“Our organisation is stronger for their involvement and contribution over the years, and we are very fortunate to have people of this quality associated with our movement.

“In particular, congratulations to Heather Thompson AM (SA), Laurence Graham OAM (NSW), Richard Mitchell OAM (VIC) and Rogers Sayers OAM (NSW), who have specifically been honoured for their long-standing service to Surf Life Saving.

“Beyond patrolling the coastline, our volunteers are actively working in the community to help promote the surf safety message to educate the next generation of surf lifesavers, carry out extended patrol services as well as fundraising so they can keep our surf clubs on the frontline.

“Our 314 Surf Life Saving Clubs across the country form a vital role within each local community and it’s the individuals within each club who are the cornerstone of our clubs.

“We are proud that so many of our volunteers were today recognised nationally, outside of our organisation by the Governor General for their outstanding community service,” added Ford.

Congratulations to the below Surf Life Saving Australia Day recipients:

Australia Day Honours & details as per the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia website:


Ms Georgina BYRON – Bronte SLSC, NSW

Mrs Heather Anne THOMPSON– Grange SLSC, SA


Ms Patricia Mary CHIGWIDDEN – Chiton Rocks SLSC, SA

Mr Graeme Phillip CROFTS – Coffs Harbour SLSC, NSW

Mr Laurence Geoffrey GRAHAM – Merewether SLSC, NSW

Mr Richard MITCHELL – Venus Bay SLSC, VIC

Mr Roger Philip SAYERS – Avalon Beach SLSC, NSW

Mr Gary Desmond TOMLINS ESM – Secret Harbour SLSC, VIC

For more information on each member please see the Governor General’s website here.

Go to top