Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
Headland, Sunshine Coast on Friday 24 January 2020.

With state pride on the line, the Interstates Championship sees surf lifesavers compete for their states in a range of events both on the beach and in the ocean.

Over one day of competition, individuals compete for points that accumulate towards their states final score with the winning team taking home the prestigious Interstates Championship trophy.

New South Wales have taken out the Interstate Championships for the past two years just head of the Queensland Cyclones, who will be in top contention to secure the trophy ahead of their over the border rivals.

SLSA National Sport Manager Wayne Druery said the Interstates provides up-and-comers with an opportunity to test their lifesaving and surf skills against some of Australia’s top surf lifesavers.

“The Interstates are a great opportunity for both youth and open athletes to pull on their state caps and showcase their lifesaving skills against some of the toughest competitors in the country,” he said.

“State rivalry is fierce, and the Interstates is like the state-of-origin of surf lifesaving as each team fights for dominance and the coveted trophy.”

As the official destination for an Australia Day long weekend of surf sports, the Sunshine Coast will play host to both the Interstates on Friday 24 January and the inaugural Iron X event at Mooloolaba on Monday 27 January.

“We’re really excited to be back on the Sunshine Coast for an action packed weekend of surf sports,” Druery said.

“Alexandra Headland SLSC and Mooloolaba SLSC are great clubs and fantastic locations with the Sunshine Coast drawing crowds from all over Australia. There will be something for everyone to watch come the Australia Day long weekend.”

The 2020 Interstates Championship will be livestreamed from 8:00am AEST via SLSA’s Facebook page.

2020 Interstates Championship Events

  • IronMan/IronWoman
  • Board
  • Surf Ski
  • Surf Race
  • Rescue Tube Race
  • Board Rescue Race
  • Mixed Surf Teams
  • Mixed Surf Ski Relay
  • Mixed Board Relay
  • Taplin Relay
  • Beach Flags
  • Beach Relay
  • Beach Sprint

2020 Intertstates Championship Teams

NSWOpenNaomi ScottYouthNicola Owen
NSWOpenJemma SmithYouthEmily Doyle
NSWOpenBritney PierceYouthJasmine Locke
NSWOpenAlexandra RampoldiYouthBella Williams
NSWOpenIsabellah WalkerYouthGrace Hewitt
NSWOpenLizzie WelbornYouthLeah Rampoldi
NSWOpenJamee SmithYouthNoah Havard
NSWOpenDaniel CollinsYouthFinn Askew
NSWOpenSam ZustovichYouthKye Taylor
NSWOpenMitchell TrimYouthZach Morris
NSWOpenMax BrooksYouthJack Bridges
NSWOpenJackson BorgYouthAce Haslam


NSW CountryOpenChloe JonesYouthMaisie Miller
NSW CountryOpenTaylah AllenYouthOlissa Onley
NSW CountryOpenAnthea WarneYouthLily O’Sullivan
NSW CountryOpenSofie BoydYouthKirra Dale
NSW CountryOpenHayley SmithYouthGrace Eady
NSW CountryOpenCahrizma MacDonald-cassYouthClaire Van Kampen
NSW CountryOpenBailey CopelandYouthNicholas Bulloch
NSW CountryOpenKai OnleyYouthJoseph Warne
NSW CountryOpenAngus MacphailYouthLiam Worling
NSW CountryOpenBrock ScrivenerYouthJayden Allen
NSW CountryOpenCody BellYouthNathan Mackenzie
NSW CountryOpenScott McCartneyYouthTyler Sweetman


QLDOpenOlivia HeatonYouthTayla Halliday
QLDOpenTiarrn RaymondYouthCharlotte Cross
QLDOpenHannah ScullyYouthBrodee Trinca
QLDOpenLucinda KellyYouthTiarnee Massie
QLDOpenLani PallisterYouthElli Halliday
QLDOpenNicole KayYouthNatalie Clucas
QLDOpenTanyn LyndonYouthAdam Palmer
QLDOpenKy KinselaYouthJoseph McMenamin
QLDOpenCorey FletcherYouthBeau Meehan
QLDOpenJett KennyYouthKaan Karadag
QLDOpenCooper WilliamsYouthSam Frost
QLDOpenSam RossYouthKai Thompson
WAOpenSoraya LeeYouthNikita Fredonnet
WAOpenCeris HumbleYouthSophie Lloyd
WAOpenRuby WarneYouthElla Packer
WAOpenJazmin Shipway-CarrYouthHarriet Brown
WAOpenJacqueline LordYouthSydney Rafferty
WAOpenCourtney FranzYouthAmy Breman
WAOpenMax AndersonYouthMatthew Colliss
WAOpenWesley GouldYouthWill Savage
WAOpenJake SmithYouthCharlie Hewitt
WAOpenDaniel HumbleYouthPatrick Eley
WAOpenJackson SymondsYouthCristian Sayers
WAOpenCharlie RigbyYouthTyson Cook


VICOpenHannah SchmditYouthGrace Harris
VICOpenKira KinseyYouthMia Spencer
VICOpenMackenzie HooperYouthReidel Smith
VICOpenMadeleine HurstYouthRose Bentley
VICOpenCourtney BryantYouthKyalla Happ
VICOpenDRAFT PICKYouthMaison Degg
VICOpenDrew GreenYouthArchie Vernon
VICOpenJesse CoulsonYouthHenry Van Til
VICOpenJosh PattersonYouthIestyn Knapp
VICOpenMatt HardimanYouthThomas Regan
VICOpenSaxon BealeYouthTim Hannan
VICOpenShane RyanYouthBrayden Casamento


SAOpenHayley OpenshawYouthCloe Griffiths
SAOpenCaitriona O’LearyYouthLeilani Snell
SAOpenAnnabel LampardYouthCharlotte Dolan
SAOpenStella BengerYouthKayla Roe
SAOpenDRAFT PICKYouthNatasha Bedford
SAOpenDRAFT PICKYouthTeagan Richards
SAOpenCalum ScrivensYouthJoseph McKinnon
SAOpenPatrick CobiacYouthJesse Kneebone
SAOpenTom MayYouthLachlan Merchant
SAOpenMatthew ZuillYouthCooper Bristow
SAOpenThomas WelchYouthJed Ffrench
SAOpenJayden EllisYouthXabian Cederblad
Go to top